HOW TO ACHIEVE A CONTEMPORARY POMPADOUR HAIRCUT

  • Find your style4 MIN LONG
  • Find your styleMEDIUM EFFORT
  • Find your style3 PRODUCTS


Elvis Presley wasn’t the first man to sport the pompadour haircut, but he was possibly the man who made it most famous. Originally named for Madame de Pompadour, mistress of King Louis XV, its basic form is hair upswept from the face in a quiff that extends back over the forehead. And it is usually accompanied with trim, slick sides.

It has, like anything prey to the whims of fashion, drifted in and out of vogue. Elvis might have been its very own King in the 1950s and early 60s but the high-maintenance style began to look old fashioned by the time the 70s moved into view. It was the very opposite of the let-it-all-hang-out vibe of the time. You wouldn’t spend an hour doing your hair for Woodstock, would you now? During the 80s, however, when vanity, to say nothing of greed, was good again, it was adopted by those who were nostalgic for the simpler days of the 50s.

Today the revival of this men’s hairstyle is celebrity-led and Instagram-driven – and we couldn’t be more pleased about it. Now, everyone from Alex Turner, Brad Pitt and David Beckham, to Robert Pattinson and Zayn Malik sport the rockabilly look. With the help of Vidal-Sassoon trained hairdresser Ben Copeland, we have produced a guide to acing the pompadour.



First, the different sorts:

1. THE MODERN POMPADOUR

The modern version can be upgraded with an undercut. It’s a sleek style that was sported by David Beckham, who elevated it into a modern classic. He kept the sides fairly trim but not too short, but left a larger amount of hair on top to be styled. It’s a style that suits longer, thicker hair.
The Modern Pompadour


2. THE POMPADOUR FADE

If you want an edgier cut, go for the pompadour fade. The trick here is to buzzcut the sides rather than just sweeping them back. This option works best for people who have shorter, thinner hair and doesn’t require much product. The Pompadour Fade


3. THE SIDE-PARTING POMPADOUR

This gentlemanly look is a hit right now because of its versatility. It works with almost any hair type as the side-parting means your hair can easily be swept back. It’s best styled with a lightweight clay or gel. The Side-Parting Pompadour


4. THE SHORT POMPADOUR

The short pompadour is everywhere these days because it is relatively low maintenance and yet looks great. It’s a dapper look, and looks great in a suit, so if you want a look for a wedding, this is for you. The Short Pompadour


5. THE CURLY POMPADOUR

Big curls create texture and a volume-rich cut. Don’t try to hide anything here – you want the biggest curl you can get. Keep the sides short – opt for an undercut if you want – but keep the top long, and tousle with pomade. Oh, and you might want extra hairspray to make sure it all fixes in place.


BEN COPELAND’S TIPS ON…HOW TO STYLE A POMPADOUR:

Ben Copeland's Tips

With his flyaway slick back and even dappling of stubble, the Game of Thrones creator always manages to look immaculately undone, and could pass as a character in his own Emmy Award-winning series. Currently, David Beckham’s hairstyle is in a similar vein, and he keeps those long locks in shape with House 99 Smoothing Back Shaping Pomade.


  1. First of all towel dry your hair. If you like you can apply some Smooth Back Shaping Pomade to the hair before you blow dry it to help create a bit more hold and shape.

  2. Blow dry your hair with a Denman or round brush, you want to dry your hair starting at the root and working all the way along the shaft of the hair to the ends with the hairdryer. Make sure you pay particular attention the front, and lift your hair with your brush in an upwards direction from roots to ends to create height and body.

  3. Your next step is to get a thumb sized amount of wax or pomade and warm it by running it into your hands. Make sure it’s loose and pliable.

  4. Now work the pomade through your hair starting at the top of the head – not the front!

  5. Using your comb and hands, tease the fringe up and into place, smoothing and perfecting with both. If you want a looser style just use your hands.

  6. If you want to create more hold, use the Tight Grip Fixing Spray to keep it all in place.

Desailly House 99 - 14
Read more

Related products

COMMENT OBTENIR UNE COUPE POMPADOUR CONTEMPORAINE

  • Find your style4 MINUTES
  • Find your styleMOYEN
  • Find your style3 PRODUITS


Elvis Presley ne fut pas le premier homme à porter une coupe pompadour, mais c’est probablement grâce à lui si cette coupe est devenue célèbre. La coiffure doit son nom à Madame de Pompadour, la maitresse du Roi Louis XV, qui portait ses cheveux relevés très haut à l’avant de façon à dégager le front et le visage. Avec cette coiffure, les cheveux sont habituellement courts et bien lissés sur les côtés.

Au fil des années, ce style de coiffure a été considéré soit branché ou démodé, étant sujet au diktat de la mode. Elvis était le roi incontesté de cette coiffure dans les années 50 et 60, mais à l’arrivée des années 1970, le pompadour, qui nécessitait beaucoup d’entretien, commença à avoir l’air démodé. Il ne cadrait plus avec le style « vivre, et laisser vivre » de l’époque. Personne n’aurait eu envie de passer une heure à se coiffer pour aller voir le concert de Woodstock. Lorsque la vanité et l’avidité furent de retour dans les années 1980, le pompadour redevint populaire auprès de ceux qui s’ennuyaient de la vie plus simple des années 50.

De nos jours, cette coiffure pour hommes fait un retour marqué surtout grâce aux vedettes qui la portent et qui s’affichent sur Instagram – pour notre plus grand bonheur. Qu’il s’agisse d’Alex Turner, de Brad Pitt, de David Beckham, de Robert Pattinson ou de Zayn Malik, le look rock est plus facile à porter que jamais. Nous avons réalisé ce petit guide pour réussir la coupe pompadour avec l’aide de Ben Copeland, un coiffeur formé par Vidal Sassoon.



Voici les différents types de pompadour:

1. LE POMPADOUR MODERNE

Cette version moderne peut être mise à jour avec une nuque et des côtés rasés. David Beckham a porté ce style épuré qu’il a rendu célèbre et qui est devenu un classique moderne. Les côtés sont coupés court, mais pas trop, et les cheveux sont beaucoup plus longs sur le dessus. Ce style est idéal pour les cheveux longs et épais.
The Modern Pompadour


2. LE POMPADOUR DÉGRADÉ

Si vous désirez une coupe plus audacieuse, essayez le pompadour dégradé. L’important est de couper les côtés en brosse plutôt que de les lisser vers l’arrière. Cette option est parfaite pour les cheveux courts et minces qui n’ont pas besoin d’une grande quantité de produit coiffant. The Pompadour Fade


LE POMPADOUR AVEC RAIE SUR LE CÔTÉ

Ce look plutôt « gentleman » est très populaire en ce moment à cause de sa versatilité. Il convient à presque tous les types de cheveux, car grâce à la raie sur le côté, il est facile de repousser les cheveux vers l’arrière. Pour coiffer ce style, il est préférable d’utiliser une pâte modelante légère ou un gel. The Side-Parting Pompadour


4. LE POMPADOUR COURT

Le pompadour court est hyper populaire en ce moment, car il requiert peu d’entretien et parait toujours impeccable. Cette coupe donne un petit look élégant qui convient tout à fait à un complet, alors si vous êtes à la recherche d’une coupe de cheveux pour un mariage, celle-ci est la bonne. The Short Pompadour


5. LE POMPADOUR BOUCLÉ

Les grosses boucles donnent de la texture et du volume à n’importe quelle coupe. N’essayez pas de les cacher, vous les voulez grosses et bien définies. Gardez les côtés courts – ou presque rasés si vous le préférez – mais conservez la longueur sur le dessus de la tête et ébouriffez les cheveux avec une pommade. Utilisez un peu plus de spray de finition pour maintenir le tout en place.


LES CONSEILS DE BEN COPELAND SUR…LA FAÇON DE COIFFER UN POMPADOUR : :

Ben Copeland's Tips

With his flyaway slick back and even dappling of stubble, the Game of Thrones creator always manages to look immaculately undone, and could pass as a character in his own Emmy Award-winning series. Currently, David Beckham’s hairstyle is in a similar vein, and he keeps those long locks in shape with House 99 Smoothing Back Shaping Pomade.


  1. Séchez d’abord les cheveux à la serviette. Si vous le désirez, appliquez un peu de Pommade modelante Smooth Back sur les cheveux avant de les sécher au séchoir pour assurer une meilleure forme et tenue.

  2. Séchez les cheveux au séchoir avec une brosse Denman ou une brosse ronde. Séchez les cheveux à partir de la racine en appliquant l’embout du séchoir sur les longueurs jusqu’aux pointes. Accordez une attention particulière à l’avant de la chevelure – soulevez les cheveux avec la brosse vers le haut, de la racine aux pointes, pour créer de la hauteur et ajouter du corps.

  3. Prenez ensuite une noisette de cire ou de pommade que vous réchaufferez dans la paume des mains. Assurez-vous que le produit est mou et malléable.

  4. Appliquez maintenant la pommade avec les doigts en commençant par les cheveux qui sont sur le dessus de la tête et non pas à l’avant!

  5. À l’aide d’un peigne et de vos mains, crêpez légèrement la frange vers le haut pour la maintenir en place tout en lissant les cheveux. Si vous désirez un style plus décontracté, utilisez uniquement les mains.

  6. Si vous désirez une meilleure tenue, utilisez le Spray de finition Tight Grip pour maintenir le tout en place.

Lire la suite

Produits connexes